All Time Faves: Downton Abbey Readalikes

pdficon_small Printer friendly version

The Children's Book The Children's Book
By Byatt, A. S.
2010-08 - Vintage Books USA
9780307473066 Check our catalog

This spellbinding novel, at once sweeping and intimate, from the Booker Prize-winning author of "Possession," spans the Victorian era through the World War I years, and centers around a famous children's book author and the passions, betrayals, and secrets that tear apart the people she loves. Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. …More

The Wild Rose The Wild Rose
By Donnelly, Jennifer
2011-08 - Hyperion Books
9781401301040 Check our catalog

Donnelly, the author of "The Tea Rose" and "The Winter Rose," brings her captivating trilogy to a close with "The Wild Rose." …More

Birdsong Birdsong
By Faulks, Sebastian
1997-06 - Vintage Books USA
9780679776819 Check our catalog

Published to international critical and popular acclaim, this intensely romantic yet stunningly realistic novel spans three generations and the unimaginable gulf between the First World War and the present. As the young Englishman Stephen Wraysford passes through a tempestuous love affair with Isabelle Azaire in France and enters the dark, surreal world beneath the trenches of No Man's Land, Sebastian Faulks creates a world of fiction that is as tragic as A Farewell to Arms and as sensuous as The English Patient. …More

Past Imperfect Past Imperfect
By Fellowes, Julian
2012-05 - St. Martin's Griffin
9781250020376 Check our catalog

Wishing to track down a past girlfriend who claims he had fathered her child, the rich and dying Damian Baxter contacts an old friend from his days at Cambridge. The search takes the narrator back to 1960s London, where everything is changing--just not always quite as expected. …More

Fall of Giants Fall of Giants
By Follett, Ken
2011-08 - New American Library
9780451232571 Check our catalog

The first novel in The Century Trilogy follows the fates of five interrelated families--American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh--as they move through the world-shaking dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for women's suffrage. …More

The American Heiress The American Heiress
By Goodwin, Daisy
2012-03 - St. Martin's Griffin
9780312658663 Check our catalog

The story of Cora Cash, an American heiress in the 1890s who bags an English duke, this is a deliciously evocative first novel that lingers in the mind."--Allison Pearson, "New York Times"- bestselling author of "I Don't Know How She Does It." …More

The Stranger's Child The Stranger's Child
By Hollinghurst, Alan
2011-10 - Knopf Publishing Group
9780307272768 Check our catalog

From the Man Booker Prize-winning author of "The Line of Beauty:" a magnificent, century-spanning saga about a love triangle that spawns a myth, and a family mystery, across generations. …More

Charity Girl Charity Girl
By Heyer, Georgette
2008-09 - Sourcebooks Casablanca
9781402213502 Check our catalog

Henrietta is beginning to wonder if Viscount Desford has fallen in love with a homeless waif. Without the intervention of his scapegrace brother and Henrietta's worthy suitor Gary Nethercott, Desford is in danger of making a rare humblebroth of his affairs. …More

The Pursuit of Love The Pursuit of Love
By Mitford, Nancy
2010-08 - Vintage Books USA
9780307740816 Check our catalog

One of Mitford's most enduringly popular works, "The Pursuit of Love" is a classic comedy about growing up and falling in love among the privileged and eccentric. This edition includes an Introduction by the author of "The Believers" and "What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal." …More

The House at Riverton The House at Riverton
By Morton, Kate
2009-03 - Washington Square Press
9781416550532 Check our catalog

This gorgeous debut novel is set in England between the two World Wars. The story of an aristocratic family, a mysterious death, and a vanishing way of life is told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept secrets for more than 50 years. …More

The House at Tyneford The House at Tyneford
By Solomons, Natasha
2011-12 - Plume Books
9780452297647 Check our catalog

It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau realizes her only means of escape is to advertise her services as a domestic servant in England. Fate brings her ad to the attention of Christopher Rivers, handsome scion of the aristocratic Rivers family and master of Tyneford. …More

A Bitter Truth A Bitter Truth
By Todd, Charles
2011-08 - William Morrow & Company
9780062015709 Check our catalog

Trying to help a woman in distress, World War I nurse and accidental sleuth Bess Crawford learns that no good deed goes unpunished. …More

Brideshead Revisted Brideshead Revisted
By Waugh, Evelyn
2008-07 - BBC Audiobooks
9781602834866 Check our catalog

Irons, who starred in the landmark 1981 television adaptation of Waugh's novel, narrates this classic tale that chronicles Charles Ryder's friendship with Sebastian Flyte and his family in the 1920s. Unabridged. 10 CDs. …More

The Buccaneers The Buccaneers
By Wharton, Edith
1994-10 - Penguin Books
9780140232028 Check our catalog

Finally finished by writer Marion Mainwaring, Edith Wharton's timeless story is as riveting today as any written in her own time. Set in the 1870s, The Buccaneers is about five wealthy American girls whose money is too "new" to get them into society. …More

Maisie Dobbs Maisie Dobbs
By Winspear, Jacqueline
2004-05 - Penguin Books
9780142004333 Check our catalog

Maisie Dobbs isn?t just any young housemaid. Through her own natural intelligence?and the patronage of her benevolent employers?she works her way into college at Cambridge. When World War I breaks out, Maisie goes to the front as a nurse. It is there that she learns that coincidences are meaningful and the truth elusive. After the War, Maisie sets up on her own as a private investigator. …More