All Time Faves: Summer Reading for Women 2013

PDFPrinter friendly version

Palisades Park Palisades Park
By Brennert, Alan
2013-04 - St. Martin's Press
9780312643720 Check our catalog

Bestseller Brennert's spellbinding story about a family of dreamers and theirlives within the legendary Palisades Amusement Park in the 1930s. …More

Girls in White Dresses Girls in White Dresses
By Close, Jennifer
2012-05 - Vintage Books
9780307743695 Check our catalog

Wickedly hilarious and utterly recognizable, this is the story of three women grappling with heartbreak and career change, family pressure and new love--all while suffering through an endless round of weddings and bridal showers. …More

Summer Blowout Summer Blowout
By Cook, Claire
2009-04 - Hyperion Books
9781401340957 Check our catalog

A string of Italian beauty salons run by a lovably insane Boston Irish family is the backdrop for this hilarious, rambunctious work that is full of juicy conflict and unconditional love. …More

How Did You Get This Number How Did You Get This Number
By Crosley, Sloane
2011-05 - Riverhead Books
9781594485190 Check our catalog

Crosley's easy, charming voice in the face of minor suffering or potential drudgery has been described as a mix between Dorothy Parker and David Sedaris. In these hilarious and insightful essays, she packs up her sensibility and takes readers with her to Paris, to Portugal (where she falls in with a group of Portuguese clowns), and to Alaska (where she discovers wearing bear bells is a matter of self-defense).

Mercury in Retrograde Mercury in Retrograde
By Froelich, Paula
2010-06 - Washington Square Press
9781416598947 Check our catalog

Froelich, a well-connected gossip columnist for the "New York Post," brings her insider's perspective to her delicious debut about the bonds of friendship among three very different women. …More

Flora Flora
By Godwin, Gail
2013-05 - Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
9781620401200 Check our catalog

Check eMediaLibrary 

Award-winning, "New York Times"-bestselling author Godwin's penetrating and haunting narrative about intimacy and loss and remorse, set against a background of world-changing events.

…More

East of the Sun East of the Sun
By Gregson, Julia
2009-06 - Touchstone Books
9781439101124 Check our catalog

In the rich tradition of "The Jewel in the Crown" and "The Far Pavilions" comes this sweeping international bestseller from a major new talent that captures the lives of three young women on their way to a new life in India during the 1920s. …More

The Liar, the Bitch and the Wardrobe The Liar, the Bitch and the Wardrobe
By Kingsley, Allie
2012-09 - Berkley Publishing Group
9780425255391 Check our catalog

With disarming wit and an insider's eye, this novel about a photo intern's greatest dreams coming true captures the decadent world of Hollywood and a lifestyle only experienced in tabloid magazines. …More

Pretty in Plaid: A Life, a Witch, and a Wardrobe, or the Wonder Years Before the Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass Ph Pretty in Plaid: A Life, a Witch, and a Wardrobe, or the Wonder Years Before the Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass Ph
By Lancaster, Jen
2010-05 - New American Library
9780451228536 Check our catalog

In this prequel to "Bitter Is the New Black," Lancaster reveals how she has developed the hubris that perpetually gets her into trouble. Using fashion icons of her youth to tell her hilarious and insightful stories, the author introduces the girl that she used to be. …More

Perfection: A Memoir of Betrayal and Renewal Perfection: A Memoir of Betrayal and Renewal
By Metz, Julie
2010-05 - Voice
9781401341350 Check our catalog

Metz's "Perfection" chronicles with lapidary precision one woman's climb back to happiness after not just a spouse's death, but also the shocking recognition that her life before that death was not what she had thought it was.--Julie Powell, author of "Julie & Julia." …More

The Hypnotist's Love Story The Hypnotist's Love Story
By Moriarty, Liane
2012-06 - Amy Einhorn Books
9780399159107 Check our catalog

Ellen O'Farrell is a bit unusual. She's a hypnotherapist. She's never met her father. And she can't seem to keep a relationship going. When her new boy Patrick reveals that his ex-girlfriend is stalking him, Ellen is intrigued. …More

The Best Day of Someone Else's Life The Best Day of Someone Else's Life
By Reichs, Kerry
2008-05 - Avon Books
9780061438578 Check our catalog

A 20-something Washington, D.C., wine buyer, Vi Connelly embarks on an excruciating, crushingly expensive odyssey: she attends more weddings than you can count on two hands in less than two years, all the while searching for the love of her life, and mooning over her lost first love Caleb Carter. …More

The Other Typist The Other Typist
By Rindell, Suzanne
2013-05 - Amy Einhorn Books
9780399161469 Check our catalog

For fans of "The Talented Mr. Ripley" and "Rules of Civility." In 1923, Rose Baker is a typist in the NYC Police Department. But when a glamorous new girl joins the typing pool, Rose falls under her spell. As the two women navigate between the sparkling underworld of speakeasies by night, Rose is drawn fully into a high stakes world. …More

Where'd You Go, Bernadette Where'd You Go, Bernadette
By Semple, Maria
2012-08 - Little Brown and Company
9780316204279 Check our catalog

2013 Alex Award Winner
BookPage Notable Title

To her Microsoft-guru husband, Bernadette's a fearlessly opinionated partner; to fellow private-school mothers in Seattle, she's a disgrace; to design mavens, she's a revolutionary architect, and to her 15-year-old, she is a best friend and, simply, Mom. Then Bernadette disappears. …More

This Bright River This Bright River
By Somerville, Patrick
2012-06 - Reagan Arthur Books
9780316129312 Check our catalog

A compelling family drama and a surprising love story about a woman cut off from her career and a newly released convict, this book confirms Patrick Somerville's status as one of the most exciting young writers at work today. …More