All Time Faves: Our favorite...Memoirs

PDFPrinter friendly version

Book Cover All Over But the Shoutin'
By Bragg, Rick
1998/09 - Vintage Books USA
9780679774020 Find It

This haunting, harrowing, gloriously moving recollection of a life on the American margin is the story of Rick Bragg, who grew up dirt-poor in northeastern Alabama, seemingly destined for either the cotton mills or the penitentiary, and instead became a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for "The New York Times. It is the story of Bragg's father, a hard-drinking man with a murderous temper and the habit of running out on the people who needed him most.

Book Cover Audition: A Memoir
By Walters, Barbara
2008/05 - Knopf Publishing Group
9780307266460 Find It

The most important woman in the history of television journalism offers this memoir that is heartbreaking and inspiring, surprising and fun, sometimes startling, and always riveting.

Book Cover The Color of Water
By McBride, James
1996/01 - Riverhead Hardcover
9781573220224 Find It

James McBride grew up one of twelve siblings in the all-black housing projects of Red Hook, Brooklyn, the son of a black minister and a woman who would not admit she was white. The object of McBride's constant embarrassment and continuous fear for her safety, his mother was an inspiring figure, who through sheer force of will saw her dozen children through college, and many through graduate school.

Book Cover

 

Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
By Fuller, Alexandra
2003/03 - Random House Trade
9780375758997 Find It

In "Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight, Alexandra Fuller remembers her African childhood with candor and sensitivity. Though it is a diary of an unruly life in an often inhospitable place, it is suffused with Fuller's endearing ability to find laughter, even when there is little to celebrate. Fuller's debut is unsentimental and unflinching but always captivating. 

Book Cover Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
By Gilbert, Elizabeth
2006/03 - Viking Books
9780670034710 Find It

A celebrated writer pens an irresistible, candid, and eloquent account of her pursuit of worldly pleasure, spiritual devotion, and what she really wanted out of life.

Book Cover

 

A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
By Kimmel, Haven
2002/09 - Broadway Books
9780767915052 Find It

When Haven Kimmel was born in 1965, Mooreland, Indiana, was a sleepy little hamlet of three hundred people. Nicknamed "Zippy" for the way she would bolt around the house, this small girl was possessed of big eyes and even bigger ears. In this witty and lovingly told memoir, Kimmel takes readers back to a time when small-town America was caught in the amber of the innocent postwar period-people helped their neighbors, went to church on Sunday, and kept barnyard animals in their backyards. 

Book Cover
The Glass Castle: A Memoir
By Walls, Jeannette
2006/01 - Scribner Book Company
9780743247542 Find It

In the tradition of Mary Karr's The Liars' Club and Rick Bragg's All Over But the Shouting, Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.

Book Cover Heart in the Right Place
By Jourdan, Carolyn
2007/06 - Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
9781565124875 Find It

BookPage Notable Title
Moving from her career as a successful Washington attorney back to her native Tennessee, Jourdan recognizes her father to be more heroic and devoted than any politician shed ever met. Told with tremendous heart, this is the story of how, sometimes, you can--and should--go home again.


Book Cover A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius
By Eggers, Dave
2000/02 - Simon & Schuster
9780684863474 Find It

Winner - 2001 ALA Non-Fiction Notable Selection
One of the most mesmerizing memoirs of the literary season: a wrenching, hilarious, and stylistically groundbreaking story of a college senior who, in the space of five weeks, loses both of his parents to cancer and inherits his eight-year-old brother.
 

Book Cover It's Not about the Bike: My Journey Back to Life
By Armstrong, Lance
2000/01 - Penguin Putnam
9780399146114 Find It

World-class hero Lance Armstrong tells his inspiring story, from the dark night of advanced cancer through his dramatic victory in the 1999 Tour de France.

Book Cover

 

Lucky Man
By Fox, Michael J.
2002/04 - Random House Large Print Publishing
9780375431418 Find It

In September 1998, Michael J. Fox stunned the world by announcing he had been diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease - a degenerative neurological condition. In fact, he had been secretly fighting it for seven years. The worldwide response was staggering, particularly to him. Fortunately, he had accepted the diagnosis and by the time the public started grieving for him, he had stopped grieving for himself. Now, with the same passion, humor, and energy that Fox has invested in his dozens of performances over the last 18 years, he tells the story of his life, his career and his campaign to find a cure for Parkinson's. 

Book Cover Running with Scissors: A Memoir
By Burroughs, Augusten
2006/09 - St. Martin's Press
9780312355647 Find It

A #1 "New York Times" bestseller--the true story of a boy whose mother gave him away to be raised by her unorthodox psychiatrist--Burroughs's memoir is now a feature film from TriStar Pictures, scheduled for release in September and starring Annette Bening, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Joseph Fiennes.