All Time Faves: It's Dark in Here! Mysteries Noir

pdficon_small Printer friendly version

A collection of gritty suspense stories which present the bleaker aspects of society in its darkest moments

Background to Danger Background to Danger
By Ambler, Eric
2001-10 - Vintage Books
9780375726736 Check our catalog

Kenton's career as a journalist depended on his facility with languages, his knowledge of European politics, and his quick judgment. Where his judgment sometimes failed him was in his personal life. When he finds himself on a train bound for Austria with insufficient funds after a bad night of gambling, he jumps at the chance to earn a fee to help a refugee smuggle securities across the border. . …More

A Trace of Smoke A Trace of Smoke
By Cantrell, Rebecca
2010-01 - Forge
9780765326904 Check our catalog

This suspenseful first novel follows an undercover crime reporter in Berlin in 1931 as she searches for her brother's killer, a trail that leads from the city's dark underbelly to the top ranks of the rising Nazi party. …More

The Glimmer Palace The Glimmer Palace
By Colin, Beatrice
2008-07 - Riverhead Hardcover
9781594489853 Check our catalog

BookPage Notable Title

In the tradition of Michel Faber and Sarah Waters comes a literary historical novel about an orphan girl's journey from poverty to film stardom, set against the grand backdrop of World War I. …More

Garden of Beasts: A Novel of Berlin 1936 Garden of Beasts: A Novel of Berlin 1936
By Deaver, Jeffery
2004-09 - Wheeler Publishing
9781587247842 Check our catalog

In Jeffery Deaver's most ingenious and provocative thriller yet, a conscience-plagued mobster turned government hitman struggles to find his moral compass amid rampant treachery and betrayal. Mobster Paul Schumann is arrested in New York City in 1936 and offered a choice: Pose as a journalist covering the summer Olympics in Berlin to hunt down and kill Reinhard Ernst, the ruthless architect of Hitler's clandestine rearmament - or go to Sing Sing and the electric chair. …More

City of Shadows City of Shadows
By Franklin, Ariana
2007-02 - HarperCollins Publishers
9780060817275 Check our catalog

"Gorky Park" meets "Fatherland" in this wonderfully vivid, thoroughly engrossing novel of suspense set in Germany between the two wars. …More

Kingdom of Shadows Kingdom of Shadows
By Furst, Alan
2001-10 - Random House Trade
9780375758263 Check our catalog

In spymaster Alan Furst's most electrifying thriller to date, Hungarian aristocrat Nicholas Morath--a hugely charismatic hero--becomes embroiled in a daring and perilous effort to halt the Nazi war machine in eastern Europe.…More

Straight Into Darkness Straight Into Darkness
By Kellerman, Faye
2005-08 - Warner Books
9780446578318 Check our catalog

In the latest entry in the Peter Decker-Rina Lazarus series, New York Times bestselling author Faye Kellerman takes us on an edge-of-the-seat journey to the past, and a city stalked by a killer so ruthless no one is safe-not even the police. …More

March Violets March Violets
By Kerr, Philip
2004-08 - Penguin Books
9780142004142 Check our catalog

Set against the backdrop of Hitler's rise to power, this tense thriller begins with Bernhard Gunther's investigation into the disappearance of a diamond necklace. He soon finds himself caught in a web of Nazi politics and organized crime. …More

The Informer The Informer
By Nova, Craig
2011-03 - Broadway Books
9780307236944 Check our catalog

A complex cast of characters tries to make it out of Berlin alive, in this literary thriller set in the dark days before World War II. …More

Shadow and Light Shadow and Light
By Rabb, Jonathan
2010-03 - Picador USA
9780312429416 Check our catalog

BookPage Notable Title

When an executive at the renowned Ufa film studios is found dead, it falls to Nikolai Hoffner, a chief inspector in the Kriminalpolizei, to investigate. With the help of Fritz Lang and Alby Pimm, Hoffner finds this case taking him into the treacherous underbelly of Berlin. …More

Winter in Madrid Winter in Madrid
By Sansom, C. J.
2009-02 - Penguin Books
9780143115137 Check our catalog

A vivid and haunting depiction of wartime Spain, "Winter in Madrid" presents an intimate and riveting tale that offers a remarkable sense of history unfolding and the profound impact of impossible choices. …More

A Small Death in Lisbon A Small Death in Lisbon
By Wilson, Robert
2000-10 - Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH)
9780151006090 Check our catalog 1941. Klaus Felsen, forced out of his Berlin factory into the SS, arrives in a luminous Lisbon, where Nazis and Allies, refugees and entrepreneurs, dance to the strains of opportunism and despair. Felsen's assignment takes him to the bleak mountains of the north where a devious and brutal battle is being fought for an element vital to Hitler's bliztkrieg.  …More