All Time Faves: The Plain People

PDFPrinter friendly version

Here are some popular authors that write tales about Amish and Mennonites.

 

Blueberry Surprise Blueberry Surprise
By Brunstetter, Wanda E.
2012-06 - Thorndike Press
9781410447586 Check our catalog

This light-hearted romance from bestselling author Wanda E. Brunstetter makes falling in love simple and sweet. When young widow Lorna Patterson returns to college‚ she's looking for an education‚ not romance. Then she meets fellow student and culinary novice Evan Bailey. Will his persistence - and a blueberry surprise - have Lorna re-thinking love? …More

Gone Missing Gone Missing
By Castillo, Linda
2012-06 - Minotaur Books
9780312658564 Check our catalog

BookPage Notable Title

Rumspringa is the time when Amish teens are allowed to experience life without rules, but everything changes when a child goes missing and Chief of Police Kate Burkholder is called upon to assist. …More

A Season of Love A Season of Love
By Clipston, Amy
2012-06 - Zondervan
9780310319979 Check our catalog

In the fifth and final novel of Clipston's bestselling Kauffman Amish Bakery series, three young friends enter the most important season of their lives. But relationships have changed, and only time will tell if Lindsay, Katie, and Lizzie Anne have made the right choices. …More

The Amish Midwife The Amish Midwife
By Clark, Mindy Starns
2011-02 - Harvest House Publishers
9780736937986 Check our catalog

2012 Christy Award Winner-Contemporary Series, Sequels, and Novellas

A carved box with two locks of hair, the title to property in Switzerland, and a burning desire to learn about her biological family lead nurse midwife Lexie Jaeger from Oregon to Pennsylvania. There Lexie pledges to help her biological Aunt Melia, a lay midwife who has been charged with manslaughter after an Amish client and her baby die. …More

Under the Summer Sky Under the Summer Sky
By Copeland, Lori
2013-01 - Harvest House Publishers
9780736930208 Check our catalog

This romantic new book from bestselling author Copeland portrays God's miraculous provision even when none seems possible. 1893. When Jones spots a lady who is about to become the victim of a marauding band of thugs, he quickly follows his instincts. Thus begins an adventure beyond what either could have anticipated. …More

The Captive Heart The Captive Heart
By Cramer, Dale
2012-01 - Bethany House Publishers
9780764208393 Check our catalog

As a displaced Amish community struggles in a lawless Mexico, a forbidden love blossoms, and one man is pushed to the limits of his convictions. …More

Harmless as Doves Harmless as Doves
By Gaus, Paul L.
2012-06 - Plume Books
9780452297869 Check our catalog

As he goes about his chores on a cold morning, Bishop Leon Shetler daydreams of escaping the Ohio winter when his reverie is interrupted by a young man with a dangerous confession. …More

Courting Cate Courting Cate
By Gould, Leslie
2012-11 - Bethany House Publishers
9780764210310 Check our catalog

 

Cate Miller has scared off every suitor. Pete Troyer has never failed at anything. Could he be the one to finally tame the fiery Cate?

Return to Grace Return to Grace
By Harper, Karen
2012-02 - Mira Books
9780778313236 Check our catalog

Having fled her Amish community to pursue her dreams of a singing career, Hannah Esh returns with four friends to the Amish graveyard near her family home for a Halloween party. But when shots are fired and one of her friends is killed, Hannah is pulled back into the world of her past. …More

Patchwork Dreams Patchwork Dreams
By Hilton, Laura V.
2010-04 - Whitaker House
9781603742559 Check our catalog

 

The Amish term rumspringa describes the period when Amish teens are allowed to experience life outside of their religious community before committing to baptism. Becky Troyer returned home from her rumspringa single and pregnant. Since then, she has been shunned by her Amish community. Things change when Jacob Miller arrives at the Troyer farm to help with the summer chores.

Killing Kate Killing Kate
By Kramer, Julie
2011-07 - Atria Books
9781439178010 Check our catalog

TV reporter Riley Spartz is investigating a mysterious string of murders in which the killer draws an outline of an angel in chalk around each victim. A local legend dating back nearly a century leads Riley to a cemetery in Iowa, home of the infamous Black Angel monument. …More

An Amish Gift An Amish Gift
By Keller, Cynthia
2012-10 - Ballantine Books
9780345538130 Check our catalog

From the author of "An Amish Christmas" and "A Plain & Fancy Christmas" comes a heartwarming novel of marriage and family, new beginnings and poignant homecomings--just in time for the holidays. …More

A Simple Autumn A Simple Autumn
By Lauer, Rosalind
2012-10 - Ballantine Books
9780345526755 Check our catalog

For fans of Cindy Woodsmall and Beverly Lewis, Lauer's novel is a wonderful Amish story about two brothers navigating through the troubled waters of love. …More

The Bridesmaid The Bridesmaid
By Lewis, Beverly
2012-09 - Bethany House Publishers
9780764209789 Check our catalog

When distance, family hardships, and a forbidden desire threaten her secret courtship with outsider Eben Troyer, will Joanna ever be more than a bridesmaid? …More

The River Queen: A Water Wheel Novel The River Queen: A Water Wheel Novel
By Morris, Gilbert
2011-11 - B&H Publishing Group
9781433673207 Check our catalog

Beloved historical romance novelist Morris discovers inspiration aboard an 1850 riverboat where a prideful woman and a drunkard captain seek restoration and find it, by God's grace, in each other. 352 pp. …More

The Pursuit of Lucy Banning The Pursuit of Lucy Banning
By Newport, Olivia
2012-05 - Fleming H. Revell Company
9780800720384 Check our catalog

 

Lucy Banning may live on the exclusive Prairie Avenue among Chicago's rich and famous, but her heart lies elsewhere. Expected to marry an up-and-coming banker from a respected family, Lucy fears she will be forced to abandon her charity work--and the classes she is secretly taking at the newly opened University of Chicago.

Vanish in Plain Sight Vanish in Plain Sight
By Perry, Marta
2011-07 - Center Point Large Print
9781611730791 Check our catalog

 

Set in an Amish community in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, "Vanish in Plain Sight" is the follow-up to Perry's acclaimed "Murder in Plain Sight." Original.

Ashton Park Ashton Park
By Pura, Murray
2013-01 - Harvest House Publishers
9780736952859 Check our catalog

 

For fans of the hugely popular Downton Abbey series, comes this equally enthralling story of the Danforth family of Ashton Park.

When Hope Blossoms When Hope Blossoms
By Sawyer, Kim Vogel
2012-07 - Bethany House Publishers
9780764207877 Check our catalog

Amy Knackstedt moves with her children to Weaverly, Kansas, to escape the speculation surrounding her husband's untimely death, but her neighbor, Tim Roper, is not pleased to have a Mennonite family living next to his apple orchard. Amy and Tim find their paths colliding far more than either could have foreseen. Will this tentative relationship blossom into something more? …More

Plain Proposal Plain Proposal
By Wiseman, Beth
2011-03 - Thomas Nelson Publishers
9781595548504 Check our catalog

Miriam Raber enjoys life in her Old Order Amish community, and she is hopeful that Saul Fisher will propose to her soon. But when Saul starts talking about leaving the only world either of them has ever known, Miriam imagines what her life might look like as an "Englischer." One thing she knows for certain, she loves Saul and feels he's the one God has chosen for her. But Saul's indecision has come at an inconvenient time as Miriam is noticing advances from Jesse

…More