PDFPrinter friendly version

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
By Bender, Aimee
2011-04 - Anchor Books
9780385720960 Check our catalog

On the eve of her ninth birthday, unassuming Rose Edelstein bites into her mother's homemade lemon-chocolate cake and discovers she has a magical gift: she can taste her mother's emotions in the slice. To her horror, she finds that her cheerful mother tastes of despair. Soon, she's privy to the secret knowledge that most families keep hidden: her father's detachment, her mother's transgression, her brother's increasing retreat from the world. …More

Tell the Wolves I'm Home Tell the Wolves I'm Home
By Brunt, Carol Rifka
2013-06 - Dial Press
9780812982855 Check our catalog

In this striking literary debut, Brunt unfolds a moving story of love, grief, and renewal in 1987 as two lonely people become the unlikeliest of friends and find that sometimes you don't know you've lost someone until you've found them. …More

The House on Mango Street The House on Mango Street
By Cisneros, Sandra
1991-04 - Vintage Books USA
9780679734772 Check our catalog

Told in a series of vignettes stunning for their eloquence, The House on Mango Street is Sandra Cisneros's greatly admired novel of a young girl growing up in the Latino section of Chicago. Acclaimed by critics, beloved by children, their parents and grandparents, taught everywhere from inner-city grade schools to universities across the country, and translated all over the world, it has entered the canon of coming-of-age classics.  …More

Room Room
By Donoghue, Emma
2011-05 - Back Bay Books
9780316098328 Check our catalog

Told entirely in the language of the energetic, pragmatic five-year-old Jack, "Room" is a celebration of resilience and the limitless bond between parent and child, a brilliantly executed novel about what it means to journey from one world to another. …More

Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
By Doyle, Roddy
1995-01 - Penguin Books
9780140233902 Check our catalog

Winner - 1993 Booker Award
In this national bestseller and winner of the Booker Prize, Roddy Doyle, author of the "Barrytown Trilogy", takes us to a new level of emotional richness with the story of ten-year-old Padraic Clarke. Witty and poignant--and adored by critics and readers alike--Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha charts the trumphs, indignities, and bewilderment of Paddy as he tries to make sense of his changing world. print. …More

The Round House The Round House
By Erdrich, Louise
2012-10 - Harper
9780062065247 Check our catalog

2013 Alex Award Winner
2012 National Book Award Winner-Fiction
BookPage Notable Title

Check eMediaLibrary

One Sunday in the spring of 1988, a woman living on a reservation in North Dakota is attacked. The details of the crime are slow to surface as Geraldine Coutts is traumatized and reluctant to relive or reveal what happened, either to the police or to her husband, Bazil, and thirteen-year-old son, Joe. In one day, Joe's life is irrevocably transformed. He tries to heal his mother, but she will not leave her bed and slips into an abyss of solitude. Increasingly alone, Joe finds himself thrust prematurely into an adult world for which he is ill prepared.

…More

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close
By Foer, Jonathan Safran
2011-11 - Mariner Books
9780547735023 Check our catalog

Jonathan Safran Foer emerged as one of the most original writers of his generation with his best-selling debut novel, "Everything Is Illuminated." Now, with humor, tenderness, and awe, he confronts the traumas of our recent history. …More

The Client The Client
By Grisham, John
Author Grisham
2006-10 - Doubleday Books
9780385424714 Check our catalog

In the two years since The Firm first captured the imagination of America's readers, John Grisham, with three consecutive number-one bestsellers, has become one of the most popular authors of our time. Now, in The Client, he has written a novel so irresistible, so thoroughly entertaining and satisfying, that it is sure not only to please his millions of fans, but to win him new ones as well. This is the story of eleven-year-old Mark Sway, who, as the novel opens, witnesses the bizarre suicide of a New Orleans attorney. …More

A Painted House A Painted House
By Grisham, John
2004-02 - Bantam
9780385337939 Check our catalog

Until that September of 1952, Luke Chandler had never kept a secret or told a single lie. But in the long, hot summer of his seventh year, two groups of migrant workers -- and two very dangerous men -- came through the Arkansas Delta to work the Chandler cotton farm. And suddenly mysteries are flooding Luke's world. …More

The History of Love The History of Love
By Krauss, Nicole
2006-05 - W. W. Norton & Company
9780393328622 Check our catalog

BookPage Notable Title
Inspired by her four grandparents (from four different countries), Krauss tells the story of a man who, 60 years ago in the Polish village where he was born, fell in love and wrote a book. And though he doesn't know it, that book survived, inspiring fabulous circumstances, even love. …More

The Selected Works of T. S. Spivet The Selected Works of T. S. Spivet
By Larsen, Reif
2010-04 - Penguin Books
9780143117353 Check our catalog

This brilliant, boundary-leaping debut novel traces 12-year-old genius map-maker T.S. Spivet's attempts to understand the ways of the world. …More

Special Topics in Calamity Physics Special Topics in Calamity Physics
By Pessl, Marisha
2007-04 - Penguin Books
9780143112129 Check our catalog

Structured around a syllabus for a Great Works of Literature class, this mesmerizing debut, uncannily uniting the trials of a postmodern upbringing with a murder mystery, heralds the arrival of a vibrant new voice in literary fiction. …More

The Lovely Bones The Lovely Bones
By Sebold, Alice
2004-04 - Back Bay Books
9780316168816 Check our catalog

A BookPage Notable Title
Now in paperback comes Alice Sebold's luminous first novel--one of the most celebrated literary debuts of recent seasons--that builds out of a family's grief the most hopeful and joyful of stories. …More

The Little Friend The Little Friend
By Tartt, Donna
2003-10 - Vintage Books
9781400031696 Check our catalog

Bestselling author Donna Tartt returns with a grandly ambitious and utterly riveting novel of childhood, innocence and evil. The setting is Alexandria, Mississippi, where one Mother's Day a little boy named Robin Cleve Dufresnes was found hanging from a tree in his parents' yard. …More

Hand Me Down Hand Me Down
By Thorne, Melanie
2012-04 - Dutton Books
9780525952688 Check our catalog

BookPage Notable Title

A tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, "Hand Me Down" is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all. …More

The Shadow of the Wind The Shadow of the Wind
By Ruiz Zafon, Carlos
2005-01 - Penguin Books
9780143034902 Check our catalog

Barcelona, 1945

A great world city lies shrouded in secrets after the war, and a boy mourning the loss of his mother finds solace in his love for an extraordinary book called The Shadow of the Wind, by an author named Julian Carax. When the boy searches for Carax's other books, it begins to dawn on him, to his horror, that someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book the man has ever written. …More