pdficon_small Printer friendly version

The Dragon's Path The Dragon's Path
By Abraham, Daniel
2011-04 - Orbit
9780316080682 Check our catalog

What should have been a small summer spat between gentlemen is spiraling out of control. Dark forces are at work, fanning the flames that will sweep the entire region onto The Dragon's Path--the path of war. …More

The Darkness That Comes Before The Darkness That Comes Before
By Bakker, R. Scott
2008-09 - Overlook Press
9781590201183 Check our catalog

Strikingly original in its conception, ambitious in scope, with characters engrossingly and vividly drawn, the first book in Bakker's Prince of Nothing series creates the kind of all-embracing universe Tolkien and Herbert created in "The Lord of the Rings" and "Dune." …More

Kushiel's Dart Kushiel's Dart
By Carey, Jacqueline
2002-03 - Tor Books
9780765342980 Check our catalog

Sold into indentured servitude as a child in the sumptuous and exotic Night Court, Phdre no' Delaunay is a woman trained equally in the courtly arts and the talents of the bedchamber, but, above all, in the ability to observe, remember, and analyze. She also struggles for honor and duty, and her loyalty to the land she loves will take her to the edge of despair and beyond. …More

The Legend of Broken The Legend of Broken
By Carr, Caleb
2013-07 - Random House Trade
9780812984521 Check our catalog

Legend meets history in this mesmerizing novel from #1 "New York Times" bestselling author Caleb Carr. Demonstrating the rich storytelling, skillful plotting, and depth of research he showcased in "The Alienist," Carr has written a wildly imaginative, genre-bending saga that redefines the boundaries of literature. …More

Acacia: Book One: The War with the Mein Acacia: Book One: The War with the Mein
By Durham, David Anthony
2007-06 - Doubleday Books
9780385506069 Check our catalog

"Acacia" offers a thrilling work of literary imagination that creates an all-enveloping and mythic world. Durham has written a timeless tale of heroism and betrayal, of treachery and revenge, of primal wrongs and ultimate redemption. …More

The Iron King (the Accursed Kings, Book 1) The Iron King (the Accursed Kings, Book 1)
By Druon, Maurice
2013-04 - Harper
9780007491261 Check our catalog

…More

Gardens of the Moon Gardens of the Moon
By Erikson, Steven
2005-01 - Tor Books
9780765348784 Check our catalog

"Give me the evocation of a rich, complex and yet ultimately unknowable other world, with a compelling suggestion of intricate history and mythology and lore. Give me mystery amid the grand narrative. Give me a world in which every sea hides a crumbled Atlantis, every ruin has a tale to tell, every mattock blade is a silent legacy of struggles unknown. Give me, in other words, the fantasy work of Steven Erikson. Erikson is a master of lost and forgotten epochs, a weaver of ancient epics on a scale that would approach absurdity if it wasn't so much fun."--Andrew Leonard, Salon.com …More

The Immortal Prince The Immortal Prince
By Fallon, Jennifer
2009-06 - Tor Books
9780765356079 Check our catalog

The gods of legend rise again on the world of Amyrantha, in this first book in Fallon's brilliant new four-book series. …More

Dune Dune
By Herbert, Frank
1990-09 - Ace Books
9780441172719 Check our catalog

Here is the novel that will be forever considered a triumph of the imagination. Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, who would become the mysterious man known as Muad'Dib. He would avenge the traitorous plot against his noble family -- and would bring to fruition humankind's most ancient and unattainable dream.

…More

Fool's Errand Fool's Errand
By Hobb, Robin
2008-09 - Voyager
9780006486015 Check our catalog

For fifteen years FitzChivalry Farseer has lived in self-imposed exile, assumed to be dead by almost all who once cared about him. But that is about to change when destiny seeks him once again. Prince Dutiful, the young heir to the Farseer throne, has vanished and FitzChivalry, possessed of magical skills both royal and profane, is the only one who can retrieve him in time for his betrothal ceremony--thus sparing the Six Duchies profound political embarrassment...or worse. But even Fitz does not suspect the web of treachery that awaits him or how his loyalties to his Queen, his partner, and those who share his magic will be tested to the breaking point. …More

The Eye of the World The Eye of the World
By Jordan, Robert
1995-09 - Tor Books
9780812511819 Check our catalog

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow. …More

A Game of Thrones A Game of Thrones
By Martin, George R. R.
1997-08 - Spectra Books
9780553573404 Check our catalog

"A Game of Thrones is a contemporary masterpiece of fantasy. The cold is returning to Winterfell, where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime. A time of conflict has arisen in the Stark family, as they are pulled from the safety of their home into a whirlpool of tragedy, betrayal, assassination, plots and counterplots. Each decision and action carries with it the potential for conflict as several prominent families, comprised of lords, ladies, soldiers, sorcerers, assassins and bastards, are pulled together in the most deadly game of all--the game of thrones. …More

Nights of Villjamur Nights of Villjamur
By Newton, Mark Charan
2011-05 - Spectra Books
9780345520852 Check our catalog

Nights of the Villjamur marks the beginning of a sweeping new fantasy epic. Beneath a dying red sun sits the proud and ancient city of Villjamur, capital of a mighty empire that now sits powerless against an encroaching ice age. As throngs of refugees gather outside the city gates, a fierce debate rages within the walls about the fate of these desperate souls. Then tragedy strikes--and the Emperor's elder daughter, Jamur Rika, is summoned to serve as queen. Joined by her younger sister, Jamur Eir, the queen comes to sympathize with the hardships of the common people, thanks in part to her dashing teacher Randur Estevu, a man who is not what he seems. …More

The Name of the Wind The Name of the Wind
By Rothfuss, Patrick
2008-04 - Daw Books
9780756404741 Check our catalog

A high-action novel written with a poet's hand, this brilliant debut fantasy by Patrick Rothfuss is a powerful coming-of-age story of a magically gifted young man, told through a riveting first-person narrative that allows the reader to "become" the hero. …More