If you like Jan Karon's Mitford Years Series you should try the following series. 

PDFPrinter friendly version

The Quilter's Apprentice The Quilter's Apprentice
By Chiaverini, Jennifer
1999-04 - Simon & Schuster
9780684849720 Check our catalog

From debut novelist Jennifer Chiaverini comes The Quilter's Apprentice, a delightful, timeless story of loyalty and friendship.

When Sarah McClure and her husband, Matt, move to the small town of Waterford, Pennsylvania, to get a fresh start, Sarah struggles to find a fulfilling job. Disheartened by failed interviews, she reluctantly accepts a temporary position at Elm Creek Manor helping …More

Home to Harmony Home to Harmony
By Gulley, Philip
2002-03 - HarperOne
9780060006297 Check our catalog

Winner - 2001 Christy Contemporary Book Award
In the fictional small town of Harmony, Indiana, Sam Gardner becomes the pastor of his hometown church, Harmony Friends Meeting. In this delightful, first-person book, Sam describes in a warm, down-home style the moving and humorous adventures he encounters his first year home to Harmony. …More

All Creatures Great and Small All Creatures Great and Small
By Herriot, James
1992-09 - St. Martin's Press
9780312084981 Check our catalog

Twenty years ago, St. Martin's Press published a volume of memoirs by an unknown Scottish veterinarian named James Herriot. Its title was "All Creatures Great and Small."
Within a year, the book had become recognized as a masterpiece. In the two decades that have followed, James Herriot has become one of the most universally loved authors of our time.
Now, as we celebrate the publication …More

Friendship Cake Friendship Cake
By Hinton, Lynne
2009-11 - William Morrow & Company
9780062517319 Check our catalog

Life lessons in faith, love, strength, survival, and community--along with great Southern recipes--are featured in this elevated book. print features. …More

The Ladies of Covington Send Their Love The Ladies of Covington Send Their Love
By Medlicott, Joan A.
2000-04 - St. Martin's Press
9780312253295 Check our catalog

This heartwarming story of three women of a certain age who build a home for themselves and a future together is an inspiring delight, filled with life, love, and a few down-home recipes. …More

The Tea House on Mulberry Street The Tea House on Mulberry Street
By Owens, Sharon
2005-02 - Putnam Publishing Group
9780399152658 Check our catalog

"Maeve Binchy meets Joanna Trollope" ("Irish Independent") in the American debut of the international bestseller. Behind the chocolate cappuccinos at Muldoon's Tea Rooms are the stirrings of a revolution that will heal troubled hearts and reveal to the proprietors what truly matters in life and love. …More

Village School Village School
By Miss Read
2001-05 - Mariner Books
9780618127023 Check our catalog

"Village School" introduces cheerful schoolmistress Miss Read and her lovable group of children, who are just as likely to lose themselves as their mittens. 18 line drawings. …More

Thrush Green Thrush Green
By Miss Read
2002-05 - Mariner Books
9780618227594 Check our catalog

Miss Read introduces the inhabitants of the lovely village of Thrush Green during the course of one pivotal day--May Day. …More

Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind
By Ross, Ann B.
2000-08 - Harper Perennial
9780688177751 Check our catalog

With a cast of crazy characters and a strong Southern cadence, this beguiling novel follows the ordeal of a wealthy widow who finds herself in the midst of an unseemly scandal, saddled with the nine-year-old bastard son of her late husband. …More

A Country Affair: A Barleybridge Novel A Country Affair: A Barleybridge Novel
By Shaw, Rebecca
2006-05 - Three Rivers Press (CA)
9781400098200 Check our catalog

The first of three charming novels--bestsellers in England--set in Barleybridge finds Kate at a crossroads: should she give up her faithful boyfriend and train as a vet or continue to work as a receptionist at a veterinary clinic? …More

An Irish Country Doctor An Irish Country Doctor
By Taylor, Patrick
2007-02 - Forge
9780765316233 Check our catalog

In this charming and engrossing tale, a recent medical school graduate arrives in a rural Irish village to be an assistant to an older physician. The young doctor soon finds out more about life--and love--than he ever imagined back in medical school. …More

Jana Bibi's Excellent Fortunes Jana Bibi's Excellent Fortunes
By Woodman, Betsy
2012-07 - Holt McDougal
9780805093490 Check our catalog

Meet Jana Bibi, a Scottish woman helping to save the small town in India she has grown to call home and the oddball characters she considers family. Hoping to attract tourists with promises of good things to come, she stacks her deck of cards, readies her fine-feathered assistant--and "Jana Bibi's Excellent Fortunes" is born. …More